Find Radio Online

Site of the Day

2017 Rising Through The Ranks Winners Announced

Scholarship winners for this year's Rising Through the Ranks Seminar, presented by Radio Advertising Bureau, BMI and Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio (MIW), have been announced. Twenty-five recipients will attend this year's seminar on August 16-17 at the BMI Nashville office. This year's course will focus primarily on management and sales techniques including problem solving, recruiting, hiring and firing, personal brand building and the role of today's radio manager.

2017 Scholarship Recipients:

  • Jordyn Byington, Emmis Communications/Indianapolis, IN
  • Kasey Cain, CBS Radio/Sacramento, CA
  • Morgan Carson, IdaVend Broadcasting/Lewiston, ID
  • Miranda Crawford, Always Mountain Time/Breckenridge, CO
  • Chelsea Dickinson, CBS Radio KRLD-FM (105.3 The Fan)/Dallas, TX
  • Aleese Fielder, NRG Media/Plover, WI
  • Janine Grant, iHeartMedia/Miramar, FL
  • Jeni Grouws, Decorah Broadcasting's KDEC/Decorah, ID
  • Rachael Hall, Midwest Family Broadcasting/Mishwaka, IN
  • Jillene Khan, WKTI-FM/Milwaukee, WI
  • Lindsay Lazar, CBS Radio/Chicago, IL
  • Allison Lightfield, Leighton Broadcasting/St. Cloud, MN
  • Michelle Mariano, Southern Stone Communications/Daytona Beach, FL
  • Courtney Matern, Katz Radio Group/Ovilla, TX
  • Janet McGrath, Entercom/Norfolk-Virginia Beach, VA
  • Kelly Meyer, iHeartMedia/Davenport, IA
  • Suzanne Montoya, WPST-FM Connoisseur Media/Princeton, NJ
  • Cealleigh Moore, Entercom/Sacramento, CA
  • Mackenzie Schmidt, Midwest Communications/Evansville, IN
  • Kay Lee Smith, Impact Radio Group/Boise, ID
  • Jeanne Smith, iHeartMedia/Cedar Rapids, IA
  • Kourtney Thompson, Cox Media Group/Tampa
  • Juliette Torrenti, Lotus Broadcasting/Bakersfield, CA
  • Aly Tripp, Beasley Media Group/St. Petersburg, FL
  • Emily Yourie, CBS Radio/Farmington, CT

Sessions at this year's seminar will include, among others:

  • The Role of Today's Radio Manager
  • Managing Up and Down
  • Having Difficult Conversations
  • Budgeting and Forecasting
  • Women in the Radio Workplace
  • Recruiting, Hiring, and Firing
  • Building Your Personal Brand
  • Managing Multiple Generations
Scholarship winners will also have the opportunity to hear from leading radio industry executives across various station groups and industry backgrounds. Featured speakers include:
  • Hartley Adkins, president, corporate operations & NE Division, iHeartMedia, Inc.
  • Lynn Anderson, CEO, Integrated Media Solutions Group
  • Caroline Beasley, CEO, Beasley Broadcast Group
  • Lindsay Cerajewski, general sales manager, WSCR, CBS Radio
  • Joe D'Angelo, senior vice president, HD Radio
  • Erica Farber, president and CEO, RAB
  • Brandeis C. Hall, vice president, professional development, RAB
  • Laurie Kahn, president and CEO, Media Staffing Networks
  • Debbie Kenyon, senior vice president, market manager, CBS Radio
  • Val Maki, market manager, general manager, Emmis Communications
  • Denyse Mesnik, president, The Mesnik Group
  • Ruth Presslaff president, Presslaff Interactive Revenue
  • Dan Spears, vice president, licensing, BMI
  • Erika Sylvia, controller, Emmis Communications
  • Brooke Williams, senior vice president, membership, Radio Advertising Bureau

"Rising Through the Ranks is in its 10th year, and it continues to be our foremost initiative," noted Olin & Associates partner Kay Olin and spokesperson for the MIW Radio Group. "This two-day intensive professional development workshop allows us to continue to mentor and motivate female sales managers with the goal of helping them climb their corporate ladders."

"We are excited to be celebrating ten years of the Rising Through the Ranks initiative. Our lists of impressive presenters continue to grow, presenting a worthwhile opportunity for scholarship winners to learn from our industry's top executives," said RAB President/CEO Erica Farber. "The wealth of knowledge shared through peer-to-peer discussions between both speakers and attendees is priceless. These lessons will be brought back directly to attendee's respective markets, ensuring that female leaders continue to emerge within the radio business."

Changes & Moves
Jack Freeman
Jack Freeman
WQAL-FM (Q104)/Cleveland names Jack Freeman as co-host for "The Jeremiah Show." Freeman joins current host Jeremiah Widmer beginning on March 19, weekdays from 5:30-10am ET. More

Quick Snaps
Westwood One: Laura Okmin co-hosted Westwood One's Today in PyeongChang, a nightly two-hour live broadcast that airs each day and providing coverage of the XXIII Olympic Winter Games. Pictured is Okmin with alpine skier Lindsey Vonn, who won a bronze medal in the downhill.