RADIO ONLINE News | Daily News | Changes & Moves | Business | FCC | Stocks | Report News | RSS | Menu

Trump Intends to Nominate Rosenworcel to FCC
RADIO ONLINE | Wednesday, June 14, 2017 |12:36pm CT

Jessica Rosenworcel
Jessica Rosenworcel
President Trump will reportedly nominate Jessica Rosenworcel to return to the FCC as a Commissioner, after withdrawing her re-nomination by former President Obama in March. Rosenworcel, a Democrat, left the FCC at the end of last year after her tenure expired. President Obama then re-nominated her on January 4, in an effort by Democrats to put her back on the panel. The Commission is currently split 2-1, with two Republicans and one Democrat.

Rosenworcel was previously re-nominated in December, 2015, and the Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee unanimously voted to reappoint her to another term. However, the U.S. Senate adjourned last year and failed to hold a vote to confirm Rosenworcel for a second term. For her first term, Rosenworcel was confirmed unanimously by the U.S. Senate in May, 2012, and formally sworn into office on May 11, 2012.

FCC Chairman Ajit Pai said in a statement, "I congratulate Jessica Rosenworcel on the announcement that President Trump will nominate her to serve another term on the Federal Communications Commission. She has a distinguished record of public service, including the four-and-a-half years we worked together at this agency, and I look forward to working with her once again to advance the public interest."

NAB President and CEO Gordon Smith commented, "NAB is delighted to hear that President Trump will re-nominate Jessica Rosenworcel to the FCC. Commissioner Rosenworcel is supremely qualified for another FCC term, having demonstrated her public service credentials and full command of telecommunications issues during her Commission tenure. NAB strongly supports her re-nomination and confirmation."

Prior to joining the FCC, Rosenworcel served as Senior Communications Counsel to the United States Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, under the leadership of Senator John D. Rockefeller IV (D-WV).

Menu | Contact Us | Subscribe | Advertise | Privacy Policy | About Us

Copyright © 1989-2017 RADIO ONLINE ®
The publisher makes no claims concerning the validity of the information posted on RADIO ONLINE and will not be held liable for its use. No part of this material may be reproduced in any form, incorporated in any information retrieval system or otherwise redistributed without the prior written permission of the publisher.