NABLF Announces 2020 Broadcast Leadership Training Class

The NAB Leadership Foundation (NABLF) announced today the class of the 20th annual Broadcast Leadership Training (BLT) program. Started in 2000, the BLT program is the foremost executive training program to help develop diverse leaders in the broadcast industry. Participants are selected through a competitive application process. The current roster of participants is available HERE.

The 10-month, MBA-style program teaches the fundamentals of purchasing, owning and operating radio and television stations to senior-level broadcast executives, particularly women and people of color, who aspire to advance as group executives or station owners.

"We once again have an outstanding group of diverse senior-level broadcasters who will have the opportunity to learn about our business from industry experts," said BLT program Founder and Dean Diane Sutter, who is also the founder, president and CEO of ShootingStar Broadcasting.

The new class joins the 325 senior-level broadcasters who have graduated from the program. An impressive 65 percent of graduates have received one or more promotions and 52 are current or former station owners.

The program compromises monthly weekend sessions held at NAB's Headquarters. Participants have the opportunity to learn from and network with industry experts, including broadcast group heads, Federal Communications Commission (FCC) staff, communications attorneys, members of the banking and financial community, and academic faculty, while learning how to apply the skills taught in the program to real-world situations. The class completed their first weekend session on September 29.

"For twenty years, the Broadcast Leadership Training program has cultivated dynamic leadership and supported industry growth," said NAB Leadership Foundation President Michelle Duke. "We are excited for the new 2020 class to excel within this program and advance with gained expertise."

Sponsors of the BLT program include Beasley Broadcast Group, Cox Media, Fox TV Stations, Futuri, Graham Media Group, Gray Television, Hearst Television, Legend Communications, Meredith, Morgan Murphy Media, NAB, Nielsen Foundation, Quincy Media, Scripps, TEGNA and Univision Communications.


Return to Menu