Seven Reps Add Support for Local Radio Freedom Act in House

U.S. Congress
U.S. Congress

Seven Members of the House of Representatives have added their co-sponsorship to a resolution opposing "any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge" on local broadcast radio stations. The Local Radio Freedom Act (LRFA), which signals Members of Congress's opposition to any potential legislation that imposes new performance royalties on broadcast radio stations for music airplay, now has 147 co-sponsors in the House and 13 in the Senate.

Adding their support recently for the Local Radio Freedom Act in the House are Reps. Don Bacon (R-NE-2), Andre Carson (D-IN-7), Madeleine Dean (D-PA-4), Sam Graves (R-MO-6), Frank Lucas (R-OK-3), Greg Pence (R-IN-6) and Bryan Steil (R-WI-1).

Reps. Kathy Castor (D-FL-14) and Michael Conaway (R-TX-11) are the principal cosponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act in the House of Representatives (H. Con. Res. 20). Sens. John Barrasso (R-WY) and Martin Heinrich (D-NM) are the lead cosponsors of a companion resolution in the Senate (S. Con. Res. 5).

Return to Menu