Home Login RADIO ONLINE RSS Facebook
Find Radio Online


RAB Completes 14th Annual Management & Training Program

Radio Advertising Bureau
Radio Advertising Bureau

The Radio Advertising Bureau (RAB), in conjunction with BMI and Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio (MIW), have announced the completion of the 14th annual Rising Through the Ranks program, which began with a virtual session on August 2, and continued with in-person meetings on August 9-11 at the BMI Nashville office.

Scholarship recipients were selected and awarded by the three organizations. The two-day curriculum focused on the specific needs of women in radio management or those aspiring to move into management positions and worked to enhance their overall knowledge and skills.

Sessions from this year's seminars included: "Building Your Personal Brand," "Managing Up, Down & All Around" and "Having Difficult Conversations."

Featured speakers included:

  • Hartley Adkins, president, market group, iHeartMedia
  • Caroline Beasley, chief executive officer, Beasley Media Group
  • Kristin Cantrell, owner and chief executive officer, Seven Mountains Media and CapCity Communications
  • LaDonne Craig, market manager, Townsquare Media
  • Donna Detweiler, senior manager broadcast services, Xperi
  • Erica Farber, president and chief executive officer, RAB
  • Jessica Frost, executive director, industry relations, licensing, BMI
  • Suzanne Grimes, president, Westwood One; executive vice president, Cumulus Media
  • Kim Johnson, director of sales, RAB
  • Patty Kincaid, vice president/general manager, Media Staffing Network
  • Susan Larkin, chief operating officer, Audacy
  • Val Maki, senior vice president/market manager, Bonneville
  • Laura Okmin, Fox NFL broadcaster and co-founder, GALvanize
  • Ruth Presslaff, board president, Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio, Inc.
  • Jeff Schmidt, senior vice president, professional development, RAB
  • Erika Sylvia, controller, Emmis Communications
  • Stephanie Theisen, vice president, sales and marketing, Leighton Broadcasting
  • Ashley Wilson, director, country programming Indiana/Kentucky region, iHeartMedia

The curriculum was customized to feature practical and real-world applications that graduates could immediately use within their companies and in their personal growth.

"We are not only delighted to bring another Rising Through the Ranks class together, but to have it be in person for the first time in three years," noted RAB President and CEO Erica Farber. "This group were exposed to strategies and tools they can put to work immediately within their own organizations, while helping them become their own board of directors to help one another navigate their professional growth as future industry leaders."

"BMI was thrilled to once again host Rising Through the Ranks in our Nashville office. Each year, the event provides scholarships to an incredible class of women who participated in the program, and this year was no exception," added BMI Executive Director, Industry Relations Jessica Frost. "Being back together in person made it even more special, highlighting the importance of personal connection through mentoring, networking and education. In addition, these talented women heard invaluable advice on how to succeed in radio directly from some of the top executives in the industry, who paved the way for them to follow."

"The MIWs are an organization dedicated to mentoring women in radio," said Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio Board President Ruth Presslaff. "There's nothing better than meeting a group of dynamic dedicated up and comers who already are bringing so much to our industry and are hungry to bring even more. RTTR is just an absolute pleasure to support."

2022 Rising Through the Ranks Graduates:

Staci Bonner
iHeartMedia, West Valley, Utah

Nicole Bossio
Beasley Media Group, Detroit, Michigan

Christine Cartwright
CapCity Communications, Frankfort, Kentucky

Lila El Naggar
Key Networks, Brooklyn, New York

Ali Evans
Chapel Hill Media Group, Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Jennifer Evans
Stingray Media, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Liz Goshert
Federated Media, Mishawaka, Indiana

Sari Harlow
East Arkansas Broadcasters, Jonesboro, Arkansas

Angie Keilhauer
BMI, Nashville, Tennessee

Mollie Kendrick
Audacy, Sacramento, California

Nikki Lyter
Hubbard Broadcasting - 2060 Digital, Baxter, Minnesota

Kristen Martin
Cromwell Media, Owensboro, Kentucky

Zipporah Mondy
KJIW 94.5 FM, Helena, Arkansas

Kara Moninger
Alpha Media, Louisville, Kentucky

Kaylin Mozdzen
Townsquare Media, Marcy, New York

Karen Muth-Pasco
GenMedia Partners, Auburn, Washington

Chelley Odle
Odle Media Group, LLC, Park Hills, Missouri

Kathy Paxton
Basin Radio Network/Legend Communications, Gillette, Wyoming

Kimberli Rivera
Audacy, Phoenix, Arizona

Maya Szymanski
Katz Radio Group, Los Angeles, California

Claudia Talamantez
TelevisaUnivision - Amor 107.7, Austin, Texas

Lisa Varner
North Central Florida Media Group/Saga Communications, Ocala, Florida

Roxie Wadelington
Audacy - 102 Jamz, Greensboro, North Carolina

Madison Wright
RAB, New York, New York


Latest Radio Stories

Podtrac Issues Top Podcasts, Publishers & Sales Networks
Podtrac has releases the Top Podcast Publishers, Top Sales Networks and Top Podcasts rankings for November. The average U.S. Unique Monthly Audience for the Top 20 publishers was up 15% month-over-month and up 33% over November, 2021, in part due to More

WPXY/Rochester Taps Phil ''Moose'' Musumeci for Mornings
Phil ''Moose'' Musumeci
Phil ''Moose'' Musumeci
Audacy announces a new morning show on WPXY-FM (98 PXY) in Rochester, NY. The station welcomes back Phil "Moose" Musumeci and pairs him alongside current morning co-host Brianna "Breezy" Sloth. "PXY Mornings with Moose and Breezy" will air weekdays More

FOX News Extends TuneIn Partnership with FOX Weather
TuneIn and FOX News Media have announced the expansion of their long-running partnership to include the recently created FOX Weather station for audio streaming. Already the home to Fox News Radio, FOX News Channel's audio streaming content, the More

WLAV/Grand Rapids Taps Gregg Henson as Morning Co-Host
Gregg Henson
Gregg Henson
Classic Rock WLAV-FM Grand Rapids appoints former Detroit radio personality Gregg Henson as morning co-host. He joins West Michigan personality Michelle McKormick and audience favorite Travis Gibbs on WLAV, weekdays from 5:30-10am on the newly-named More

Acast, Self Financial Partner to Launch Podcast Series
Acast has launched a new, six-part branded content podcast series with Self Financial. In the new program called "Self," Acast and Self Financial are banking on influencers and their storytelling power to connect with audiences around the More

JAM'N 94.5/Boston Ups DJ Pup Dawg to Program Director
DJ Pup Dawg
DJ Pup Dawg
WJMN (JAM'N 94.5)/Boston elevates DJ Pup Dawg to Program Director, effective immediately. He'll continue to host 3-9pm weekdays and contribute to Ashlee and The JAM'N Morning Show with DJ 4Eign and Santi. DJ Pup Dawg started his radio journey at More

Return to Menu


Subscribe to our Newsletter
Radio news and headlines delivered right to your e-mail box -- and it's free.