Ten More Members of Congress Add Support to LRFA

Nine Members of the House of Representatives and one Senator have added their co-sponsorship to a resolution opposing "any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge" on local broadcast radio stations. The Local Radio Freedom Act (LRFA), which signals Members of Congress's opposition to any potential legislation that imposes new performance royalties on broadcast radio stations for music airplay, now has 175 cosponsors in the House and 22 in the Senate.

dding their support recently for the Local Radio Freedom Act in the House are Reps. James Baird (R-IN-4), Troy Balderston (R-OH-12), Anthony Gonzalez (R-OH-16), Mike Johnson (R-LA-4), Daniel Meuser (R-PA-9), Denver Riggleman (R-VA-5), Mac Thornberry (R-TX-13), William Timmons (R-SC-4) and Rob Wittman (R-VA-1). Adding her support for the companion resolution in the Senate are Sen. Joni Ernst (R-IA).

Reps. Kathy Castor (D-FL-14) and Michael Conaway (R-TX-11) are the principal cosponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act in the House of Representatives (H. Con. Res. 20). Sens. John Barrasso (R-WY) and Martin Heinrich (D-NM) are the lead cosponsors of a companion resolution in the Senate (S. Con. Res. 5).


Return to Menu