Home Login RADIO ONLINE RSS Facebook

Radio Hall of Fame 2021 Nominees Announced

Radio Hall of Fame
Radio Hall of Fame

The Museum of Broadcast Communications has announced the Radio Hall of Fame 2021 nominees -- 24 people and shows in six categories. Voting for inductees begins today in four of six categories: Longstanding Local/Regional (20 years or more), Active Local/Regional (10 years or more), Longstanding Network/Syndication (20 years or more), and Longstanding Network/Syndication (20 years or more). Those categories will be voted on by a panel of 600 industry professionals.

On July 26, listeners nationwide will vote on the other two categories, Music Format On-Air Personality and Spoken Word On-Air Personality. The winners in those categories will be determined by the public and the Radio Hall of Fame Nominating Committee. The outcome of the listener vote will count as one vote among the committee votes. Listeners may vote once beginning Monday, July 26 at: www.radiovote.com.

2021 Radio Hall of Fame inductees will be announced Monday, August 16, and honored in-person at the 2021 Radio Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Thursday, October 28, 2021, at Chicago's Wintrust Grand Banking Hall. Tickets will go on-sale Monday, August 16.

The 2021 Radio Hall of Fame nominees to be voted on by industry voting panel are:

Longstanding Local/Regional (20 years or more)
John & Ken, KFI-AM/Los Angeles
Melvin Lindsey, Washington (The Quiet Storm)
Matt Siegel, KISS 108/Boston
Brother Wease (Alan Levin), Radio 95.1/Rochester, NY

Active Local/Regional (10 years or more)
Laurie De Young, 93.1 WPOC-FM/Baltimore
Mercedes Martinez, Mix 94.1/Las Vegas
Elliot Segal, DC 101/Washington, DC
Bob Stroud, 97.1 The Drive/Chicago

Longstanding Network/Syndication (20 years or more)
Dr. Bobby Jones-host, "The Bobby Jones Radio Show"
Dan Patrick-host, "The Dan Patrick Show"
"Wait Wait Don't Tell Me"-National Public Radio (NPR)
Suzyn Waldman-color commentator, New York Yankees Network

Active Network/Syndication (10 years or more)
Bob & Sheri-co-hosts, "The Bob & Sheri Show"
Kim Komando-host, "The Kim Komando Show"
Sid Mark-host, "Sounds of Sinatra"
Chris "Mad Dog" Russo-host, "Chris 'Mad Dog' Russo Show" on SiriusXM

The 2021 Radio Hall of Fame nominees to be voted on by listeners/Radio Hall of Fame nominating committee are:

Music Format On-Air Personality
Russ Parr-host, "The Russ Parr Show"
Javier Romero-morning host, WAMR-FM (AMOR 107.5)/Miami
Alex Sensation-morning host, Spanish Broadcasting System (SBS)
Steven Van Zandt-host, "Little Steven's Underground Garage"

Spoken Word On-Air Personality
Alex Bennett-morning host & talk show personality
Larry Elder-host, "The Larry Elder Show," Salem Media
Preston Elliot and Steve Morrison-co-hosts of "Preston & Steve," 93.3 WMMR/Philadelphia
Sally Jessy Raphael-talk show personality

Radio Hall of Fame Chairman Kraig T. Kitchin commented: "I'm so thrilled to recognize our 2021 nominees, and look forward to our upcoming in-person induction ceremony in Chicago Thursday, October 28. We'll not only welcome 2021 inductees, but we will also welcome and honor the 2020 inductee class on that special evening this fall."

Radio Hall of Fame's Nominating Committee chair Dennis Green added, "It is an honor to chair the Nominating Committee of the Radio Hall of Fame and recognize our industry's most esteemed professionals and their tremendous achievements informing and entertaining audiences throughout their careers. We look forward to welcoming the 2021 inductees as well as the 2020 inductees to honor them in person this year in Chicago."


Latest Radio Stories

2022 AM/FM Radio Revs Projected to Rise 6-8 Percent
Westwood One
Westwood One
As the end of 2021 nears, the Cumulus Media Westwood One Audio Active Group assessed leading revenue forecasts and key trends to watch for in the coming year. This week's blog outlines the key findings and major audio trends predicted for 2022. More

LABF Announces New Board Members, Goodman Co-Chair
Jack Goodman
Jack Goodman
The Library of American Broadcasting Foundation (LABF) has announced that Streamline Publishing President Deborah Parenti and BMI Vice President of Licensing and Industry Relations Dan Spears were elected to the LABF Board of Directors during a More

WRXS (Pure Oldies 106.9)/Milwaukee Becomes WRXS-mas
WRXS-FM (Pure Oldies 106.9)/Milwaukee has become the source of traditional, authentic Holiday music in the Brew City during WRXS-mas. Listeners will hear the songs and Christmas carols from their childhood, with classics by Bing Crosby, Elvis More

Edison Research to Present The Infinite Dial 2021 UK
Edison Research
Edison Research
The Infinite Dial 2021 UK from Edison Research will debut in a webinar on Thursday, December 2 at 2pm GMT. The Infinite Dial is the longest-running survey of digital media consumer behavior in America, tracked annually since 1998, and The Infinite More

KKBE Becomes Santa 93.7 Roswell's All Christmas Station
Santa 93.7
Santa 93.7
Noalmark Broadcasting flips Alternative Rock KKBE AM & FM (The Crash)/Roswell, NM to an all Christmas and Holiday music format as "Santa 93.7." The format switch took place at midnight on Thanksgiving Day, November 25 as a new station playing More

AccuRadio to Launch 100 Holiday Stations By Christmas
AccuRadio will offer listeners 100 channels of holiday season music, launching dozens and dozens of channels of Christmas and holiday-themed music, spanning practically every imaginable genre, theme and mood -- from Christmas standards, Country, R&B More

Return to Menu


Subscribe to our Newsletter
Radio news and headlines delivered right to your e-mail box -- and it's free.